Technical College System of Georgia Honors 26 Adult Learners with 2019 EAGLE Award

Staff Report From Georgia CEO

Thursday, March 14th, 2019

The Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG) has recognized 26 adult learners with the 26thannual Exceptional Adult Georgian in Literacy Education (EAGLE) Award for outstanding achievement in the state’s adult education program. Simonne A. Crane, a delegate from West Georgia Technical College, was named as TCSG’s 2019 adult education student of the year.

The awards were presented by TCSG Commissioner Matt Arthur and TCSG Assistant Commissioner for Adult Education, Dr. Cayanna Good, during an event at the Renaissance Atlanta Waverly Hotel in Atlanta on March 13. 

“The 26 students that we are honoring today have all made a commitment to improving their lives through adult education,” said Commissioner Arthur. “For many of them, the path they took to get here was a challenging one. But, through hard work and determination, the road they are on now is one that will lead to a more fulfilling life and better job opportunities.”  

Simonne, who was selected by a panel of judges from business and education, will receive a full scholarship to the technical college of her choice. In addition, her fees and books will be paid for through a stipend from the Brenda Wise Scholarship Fund, established in 2014 in memory of Brenda Wise, a lifelong supporter of adult education.

Over the coming year, Simonne will travel the state as Georgia’s EAGLE ambassador for adult education, speaking to students, civic groups, legislators, and others about literacy and lifelong learning. 

The runner-up for the adult education student of the year is Joshua Jackson from Southern Regional Technical College. Winner of the “Spirit” award is Virginia M. Scott from Central Georgia Technical College. More than 260 guests applauded the students for overcoming obstacles that once stood in the way of their education and then excelling in the classroom while preparing for their GED® credentials.

TCSG’s EAGLE Award recognizes and honors students from throughout the state who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in TCSG’s adult education programs. More than 53,000 men and women took part in Georgia’s adult education programs last year. Each March, the local EAGLE winners are the guests of a three-day conference in Atlanta that ends with a lunch banquet in their honor.

The complete list of the EAGLE delegates for 2019 follows: 

Lois Shiver, Albany Technical College

Johnathan Miranda, Athens Technical College

Oghenerukevwe Princess Aleke, Atlanta Public Schools

Tasia Golston, Atlanta Technical College

Graciela Dean, Augusta Technical College

Virginia M. Scott, Central Georgia Technical College

Derrick Whitaker, Chattahoochee Technical College

Carlo Timothee, Clayton County Public Schools

Vivian Crooks, Coastal Pines Technical College

Brianna Hubbell, Cobb County School District

Crystal Dozier, Columbus Technical College

Harley Chastain, Georgia Northwestern Technical College

Jerrica N. Wilson, Georgia Piedmont Technical College

Sophonie Joseph-Canel, Gwinnett Technical College

Delia Andino, Lanier Technical College

Sara Aguirre Lopez, Literacy Action

Mechack Mukalengi Nduwa, North Georgia Technical College

Maria Teresa Lopez Leguizamo, Oconee Fall Line Technical College

Cathleen Brown, Ogeechee Technical College

Rebecca Hutcheson, Savannah Technical College

Heather K. Hinton, South Georgia Technical College

Daysia Heggs, Southeastern Technical College

Adrian Venegas-Garcia, Southern Crescent Technical College

Joshua Jackson, Southern Regional Technical College

Simonne A. Crane, West Georgia Technical College

Aciena Golden, Wiregrass Georgia Technical College