GDOT Office of Procurement Receives 2023 Achievement of Excellence

Tuesday, September 19th, 2023

The Operational Procurement Section within the Georgia DOT Office of Procurement has recently been honored with the 2023 Achievement of Excellence in Procurement® (AEP) award, as recognized by the National Procurement Institute (NPI). This marks the fifth occasion that the Office of Procurement has received the AEP award. For 2023, there were 194 successful applicants including 67 cities, 44 counties, 25 special districts, 25 school districts, 17 higher education agencies, 5 state or provincial agencies and 10 others.
 According to NIP, the AEP award is uniquely crafted to acknowledge and celebrate organizational excellence within the realm of public procurement. It is given to public and non-profit agencies that showcase unwavering dedication to procurement excellence by embracing key attributes such as innovation, professionalism, productivity, leadership, and e-Procurement.

"Being counted among the exclusive group of just five state agencies recognized with the 2023 AEP award for the fourth consecutive year and a total of five times within a six-year span is a true honor," said Mary Zirock, Assistant Chief Procurement Officer at Georgia DOT. She shared her thoughts, affirming, "This acknowledgment underscores our ongoing dedication to driving positive transformations and maintaining our leadership position within Georgia's procurement sector."
In addition to the National Procurement Institute, Inc. (NPI), the AEP is sponsored by the California Association of Public Procurement Officials (CAPPO), Canadian Public Procurement Council / Conseil canadien des marchés publics (CPPC), Florida Association of Public Procurement Officials (FAPPO), Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA), National Association of Educational Procurement (NAEP), NIGP: The Institute for Public Procurement and Texas Public Purchasing Association (TxPPA). The AEP is supported by the Airport Purchasing Group (APG), OMNIA Partners, Pavilion, Sustainable Purchasing Leadership Council (SPLC), Strategic Government Resources (SGR) and the Universal Public Procurement Certification Council (UPPCC).